Donna Hughes

  • Solo Artist
  • Cropped finished
  • Cropped 10549284 10201867968014510 8114582105962077753 o
  • Cropped fb9
  • Cropped fb16
  • Cropped fb20
  • Cropped fb13
  • Cropped finished 2
  • Cropped  mg 0262
  • Cropped dh cover bg
  • Cropped dh cover piano highres


Alt-Country, Americana, Bluegrass, Folk and Traditional Christian More...


Trinity NC United States

Sounds Like

Alison Krauss


Running Dog Records

Digital Location


Member since: 01/07/2015 Year Founded: 2001


Mail alt 16x12 Donna Hughes
Thumb 10505051 10201842510618091 2952122235618266651 o

Donna Hughes


songwriter/performer 336.953.5462


  • Original material: 23 hrs : 00 min
  • Cover material: 03 hrs : 00 min
  • CDs released: 6
  • CDs sold: 50000
  • Original Songs: 500
  • Average Draw: 500
  • Largest crowd: 15
  • Have sound: Full PA


Donna has written over 500 songs during her career. Her songs are being covered on You Tube by artists such as “A.J. Lee & The Tuttles” & many other artists around the world – from Slovakia, Japan, Bulgaria, and more.

Numerous other artists have recorded her original tunes including, but not limited to:

Alison Krauss & Union Station recorded My Poor Old Heart that appears on AKUS Lonely Runs Both Ways. The album won a Grammy for Country Album of the Year (Alison’s 20th Grammy – the most ever won by any female.) Alison Krauss & Union Station, featuring Jerry Douglas performed this song at the CMA Awards in 2005. The song is also included on Ron Block’s instructional DVD.

The Seldom Scene – “Sad Old Train” on the album “SYNCHRONIZED“ nominated for Best Bluegrass Album Grammy in 2007.

Nu-Blu - “Nights” – Title track from the band’s 2010 album.
“The Donna Hughes song is suffused with the longing and profound ache Hughes delivers as well as any writer, and Nu-Blu makes it work by trimming down its instrumental attack, leaving only Luck’s mournful fiddling and Daniel’s stark acoustic guitar picking to craft a stark, abject soundscape for Carolyn to offer a stirring, restrained reading that packs a punch by being so controlled. The song is a keeper, and so is the entire album. Figure on Nu-Blu hanging around for awhile.” The Bluegrass review of “NIGHTS” by Nu-Blu

Kati Penn – “Never Gonna Change” on the album, “MY TURN TO CRY“ released in 2008.

Darren Beachley – “Scattered to the Wind“ from his album ‘I LOVE YOU TO THE MOON AND BACK” released in 2009.

The Snyder Family Band - “Little Bluebird” on the album “COMIN’ ON STRONG“ released in 2010.

VIDEO – Songs written by Donna, performed by other artists:

Tour Dates