• Band / Solo Performer
  • Cropped 528893 10150755460007956 719937955 9431825 897535943 n
  • Cropped daveedwardsthelook bandphoto
  • Cropped dave edwards band pickin singles cover
  • Cropped daveedwards pic
  • Cropped dave hockey town 3


Rock, Pop, Singer songwriter, AAA Country, Garage rock, Adult contemporary, Americana, Blues, Reggae More...


Detroit MI United States

Sounds Like

Otis Redding, Rod Stewart


Hanzie Recordings

Digital Location

www.thelookde.net musicpage.com/daveedwardsandthelook


Member since: 05/21/2012 Year Founded: 1977


Mail alt 16x12 Jeffrey Amato
Thumb 528893 10150755460007956 719937955 9431825 897535943 n

Jeffrey Amato

St Clair Shores

Artist manager 313.720.6681


  • Original material: 05 hrs : 30 min
  • Cover material: 04 hrs : 00 min
  • CDs released: 8
  • CDs sold: 4000
  • Digital songs sold: 1500
  • Original Songs:
  • Average Draw: 75
  • Largest crowd: 5,000
  • Have sound: Full PA


Who is Dave Edwards and why is that name so familiar?

• Founding member, lead singer/songwriter for THE LOOK
• THE LOOK recorded 4 albums – Dominating radio & video in the 80’s with “We’re Gonna Rock”, “You Can’t Sit Down”, “Baby, Do You Want Me To?”, “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”, “Memories”, “Second Chance”, “Who Knows Me” and more.
• Toured with John Mellencamp, Jefferson Starship, The Rockets, Cheap Trick, The Kinks, J Geils Band and many others.
• Also fronted Tantrum & RH Factor during significant phases of Motor City Music History.
• Mr. Edwards – fronting RH Factor performed for the Pope at Pontiac Stadium in September of 1987.

Spotty record distribution, confusing management and recording deals killed the momentum and derailed the development of The Look’s career. Alas the band members went their separate ways.

Dave Edwards retained the name The Look and began performing with rotating sidemen performing the hits of The Look and peppered them with classic covers from The Rockets, Bob Seger & The Romantics (bands you couldn’t see up close too often) – as well as classics of Rod Stewart, Van Morrison, Bryan Adams, The Rolling Stones and lots of Motown.

In 2004, Dave Edwards began a remarkable and noteworthy solo career recording TAKE ANOTHER LOOK with not only a musical contribution from famed Detroit musicians Johnny “Bee” Badanjek & Jim McCarty, but also Bee, a noted artist, painted and contributed the artwork for the cover. Dave’s unique arrangement of Tracy Chapman’s “Give Me One Reason” remains Dave’s biggest selling track on ITunes to this day!

In 2007, Dave released an EP entitled SECOND LOOK Volume 1, a series he hopes to revisit from time to time. The first volume featured 3 newly recorded tracks, including a duet on The Boxtops’ “Soul Deep” with the great Shaun Murphy. Second Look Volume 1 closes with a live version of Paul Carrack's “I Need You” recorded at the Riverfront Concert Series in downtown Detroit.

In May of 2009 Dave released LONE SURVIVOR, his second full length CD. Lone Survivor is a hodge podge of classic rock, blues & country that fits together like a cold beer on a Friday night. A running theme throughout the CD is survival, from the opening “How Long? (with a Who’s next feel), stopping off at a bluesy take on Carole King’s “It’s Too Late”, a whiskey soaked version of Leonard Cohen’s “Ain’t No Cure For Love” and closes with the fireworks of “Can’t Keep A Good Man Down” that finds the lone survivor back on his horse and getting out of town.

Lone Survivor featured many special guest including Johnny “Bee” Badanjek, Jimmie “Bones” Trombly, Black Market alumni Bob Monteleone (who also produced the CD) & drummer Mitch Purdy (on mandolin) as well as Dave’s recent core band members. The original song “It’s Written All Over Your Face” was recorded at Harmonie Park Studios and mixed by Los Angeles engineer Tony Ugval who was also Grammy nominated in 2010 for Album of The Year with Lady GaGa. “It’s Written All Over Your Face " received a Detroit Music Award nomination, for Outstanding Country Recording. Dave also received another Detroit Music Award Nomination for Outstanding National Indie Label Artist/Group.

The scope of shows around this project are some of the best shows in Dave’s storied career. CD Release night saw The Romantics, Wally Palmer join the band on stage for a 3 song set. Countless club nights, Jimmie Bones joining the band while Kid Rock had down time. The band opening for Randy Bachman, performing in front of thousands at Wyandotte Street Fair & climaxed on 9/5/10 at Arts, Beats & Eats. Several thousand people and (sometimes folks there is just magic) as the only encore won that day was for Dave Edwards and The Look.


Entitled PICKIN’ SINGLES, the music, a celebration of rock and roll, has been uploaded into iTunes and will be available at the shows soon. The project came about when Dave, manager Jeff Amato & producer Bob Monteleone began looking for new material to record. Dave, who has a ton of songs that have never been released, began stripping the songs down to very simple, direct arrangements. Experimenting with a core band of acoustic guitars, stand up bass, drums and then enhancing them with mandolin and accordion, and for the first time, pedal steel. The songs developed a timeless personality & energy that became a direction none of us had thought to look to before. The results include a raucous take on the Frankie Miller classic “Be Good To Yourself”, the almost rockabilly “I’m Wonderin’” (which is a distinctive highlight in the current stage show), the Buddy Holly like “Rock N Roll Fever”, the tex-mex meets Detroit muscle of “I Just Don’t Know What To Do (About You)”. For good measure there is the testifying track “I Found Love” to close the release, of which the accompanying music video had been seen nationally on the COOL MUSIC NETWORK (http://thecooltv.com) which is a true music video network as well as 15,000 fast food restaurants including the entire Wendy’s chain!

What might be the most significant cut on PICKIN SINGLES is the haunting remake of The Look’s “Can’t Think Right” from their very first album all those years ago. The remodeled version is the second take and features Larry LeBeck from the Orbitsuns on pedal steel. It’s about as intimate a performance as you can get and 30 years later, it’s a new song to many!

Other players on the new record include Jimmie Bones from the Twisted Brown Trucker Band & The Howling Diablo’s, Mark Iannice from Jill Jack, Mitch Purdy from the Belle Islanders and the lovely Mrs. April Monteleone on harmony vocals. The members of Dave’s live band: Rusty Russum & James Megerian along with guitarist Lou Abraham play on “Be Good” and the rhythm section for the rest of the CD are Ken Pesick & Myles Rutledge. We hope you enjoy the new music as much as we enjoyed creating it......

Tour Dates